05
Oct
09

Hot Toddy

  Being that I have been sick this week, I can think of no better time to introduce you to my favorite cold remedy.  Originally created to make the taste of scotch more appealing to the masses, the hot toddy has become a symbol of the holidays.  If you use scotch I would suggest a blended scotch as diluting a pure scotch is punishable by death in some circles.  I avoid this whole argument by using brandy or bourbon whiskey.

The funnest cure for the common cold.

A more fun cure for the common cold.

2 ounces brandy or blended scotch
6 ounces hot herbal tea
1 tbsp. honey
1 lemon wedge
1 cinnamon stick
1 pinch ground cloves or nutmeg (optional)

Put the lemon wedge in the bottom of a coffee mug or heat safe glass.  Add the brandy, honey, hot tea and optional ground cloves or nutmeg.  Stir with the cinnamon stick and leave in.

Categories

Our Flickr Photostream


